Results!

Well the course is finished and the results are in. Can’t believe it’s back to work on Tuesday. My overall score for the course was 79.37% so precise! So I just missed a distinction (over 80%) which I can’t say I’m happy about but in the overall scheme of things it doesn’t matter – I know I should be pleased but it’s the perfectionist in me. I got 85.4% for the practical exam (really chuffed with that) including full marks for organisation! 94% for the written exam so it was the continuous assessment that let me down.

I really enjoyed the course and I learned a lot which I can now apply to my cooking for friends. It gave me a whole new level of respect for chefs and I watch Great British menu with a new, more informed eye. I know for sure I don’t want to be a chef – cooking and the decisions on what to cook and buying the ingredients are therapy for me. Cooking to order and getting something ready at the last minute for a set time is stressful and to do that for a living is not for me. I may try to do a supper club at some point but I will see how I cope with being back at work first. I am going to make the rack of lamb in a parsley crust for Sunday lunch this weekend so I hope my family like it.

Thank you all for your comments and support, especially those who came to the practice sessions for the exam. I will try to continue to do the restaurant reviews but the Cordon Bleu experience is complete now.

1 comment
  1. Molly said:

    Congratulations Fiona…I enjoyed all your trials and tribulations! Thanks for the cooking tips too. I always enjoyed cooking with you – it has been fun taking food to the next level. I hope you accomplished your goal of self discovery, and the career choices you bring you happiness. Cheers!.

Leave a comment